The Silent Woman

Janet Malcolm

Published: 2 April 2020
Paperback, B Format
129x198mm, 224 pages
ISBN: 9781783786237

Other Editions


Image of

Published: 7 June 2012
Paperback, B Format
129x198mm, 224 pages
ISBN: 9781847085375

Ebook Available

About the author

Image of Janet Malcolm

Janet Malcolm's books include Reading Chekhov, In the Freud Archives, The Silent Woman: Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes, The Journalist and the Murderer and Psychoanalysis: The Impossible Profession. Born in Prague, she grew up in New York, where she now lives. More about the author


The Silent Woman pioneered a new genre of biography in its exploration of Hughes and Sylvia Plath...The study ends with an exquisite twist that gives this book the urgency of fiction...insightful



The Silent Woman contains some of the best thinking I know on both the practical and the philosophical problems of biography’ Bernard Crick

An astonishing writer with a grasp of nuance that can be electric’

‘Compulsively readable, the best thing Malcolm has ever done

‘Intellectually explosive, morally challenging and enormous fun’

‘Of the oceans of words written about Sylvia Plath, these are among the best... a master storyteller and a psychoanalyst rolled into one. Brilliant

‘One of the deepest, loveliest, and most problematic things Janet Malcolm has written. It is so subtle, so patiently analytical, and so true that it is difficult to envisage anyone writing again about Plath and Hughes’

‘Superbly written, flowing like a piece of music from theme to theme, recapitulating here, changing key there, always disguising the complexity of its underlying construction’

‘The best-written and most stirring polemic of the year. Completely brilliant

‘The maestro of gripping nonfiction investigation’

Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts