The Collected Shorter Fiction Of Joseph Roth

Joseph Roth

Published: 17 October 2002
Paperback, B Format
129x198mm, 256 pages
ISBN: 9781862075382

Translated by Michael Hofmann


Jospeh Roth is a modern master of the laconic, emblematic narrative - an artist responding to the madness of inter-war Europe with an unsentimental humanism. His prose is quick, lucid and ironic; his fictions read like realist fables. Beneath these polished surfaces there are darker currents - of violence, hatred, racism and personal loss - that cannot be ignored. Granta Books here presents Roth's collected stories and novellas in new translations by the poet Michael Hofmann. They include 'Fallermayr the Stationmaster' and 'The Bust of the Emperor', bitter comedies of the last days of the Hapsburgs; 'Strawberries', the story of a small town in Galicia; and many other astonishing shorter fictions.

About the author

Image of Joseph Roth

Joseph Roth (1894-1939) was the great elegist of the cosmopolitan, tolerant and doomed Central European culture that flourished in the dying days of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Born into a Jewish family in Galicia, on the eastern edge of the empire, he was a prolific political journalist and novelist. On Hitler's assumption of power, he was obliged to leave Germany and he died in poverty in Paris. His novels include What I Saw, The Legend of the Holy Drinker, Right and Left, The Emperor's Tomb, The String of Pearls and The Radetzky March, all published by Granta Books. More about the author

Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts