Eleanor Catton wins Man Booker 2013

Eleanor Catton wins Man Booker 2013

(c) Janie Airey

Prize News

Recent prize news

  • Carys Davies's West has been longlisted for the Rathbones Folio Prize 2019
  • Mazen Maarouf’s Jokes for the Gunmen, translated by Jonathan Wright, has been longlisted for the 2019 Man Booker International Prize. You can read an excerpt from the collection here.
  • Hubert Mingarelli’s Four Soldiers, translated by Sam Taylor, has been longlisted for the 2019 Man Booker International Prize.
  • Sarah Moss's Ghost Wall has been longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2019



A full listing of our prizewinning titles from Granta Books:

  • The Cow Book by John Connell - An Post Irish Book Awards, Ireland AM Popular Nonfiction Book of the Year (2018)
  • Islander by Patrick Barkham - National Geographic Reader Award, Bookworm category (2018) 
  • The Last Children of Tokyo by Yoko Tawada, translated by Margaret Mitsutani - National Book Award for Translated Literature (2018)
  • Census by Jesse Ball - Gordon Burn Prize 2018
  • Such Small Hands by Andrés Barba, translated by Lisa Dillman - Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize (2018) 
  • To Be a Machine by Mark O'Connell - Wellcome Book Prize (2018)
  • The Wine Dine Dictionary by Victoria Moore - Fortnum & Mason Awards, Drink Book category (2018)
  • Border by Kapka Kassabova - Saltire Society Book of the Year (2017); Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year (2017); Highland Book Prize (2017); British Academy Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding (2018)
  • First Love by Gwedoline Riley - Geoffrey Faber Prizer (2017)
  • The Story of a Brief Marriage by Anuk Arudpragasam - DSC Prize for South Asian Literature (2017)
  • The Edge of the Shoal (extract of Cove) by Cynan Jones - BBC National Short Story Award (2017)
  • Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien - Edward Stanford Travel Writing Award for fiction with a sense of place (2017)
  • The Vegetarian by Han Kang, translated by Deborah Smith - The Man Booker International Prize (2016)
  • Do It Like A Woman by Caroline Criado-Perez - Nudge Books' Community Book of the Year (2016)
  • A Brief Stop on the Road from Auschwitz by Goran Rosenberg, translated by Sarah Death - The Bernard Shaw Prize for Swedish Translation (2016)
  • The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli, translated by Christina MacSweeney - The Premio Valle-Inclán Award for Spanish Translation (2016)
  • All For Nothing by Walter Kempowski, translated by Anthea Ball - The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for German Translation (2016)
  • The End of Days by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated by Susan Bernofsky - The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for German Translation (2015)
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton - The Man Booker Prize (2013); Governer General's Literary Award (2013)
  • May We Be Forgiven by A. M. Homes - Women's Prize for Fiction (2013), Australian International Book of the Year (2013)
  • Badgerlands by Patrick Barkham - East Anglian Book Awards (2013); East Anglian Awards Book Cover Design (2013)
  • The Virtues of the Table by Julian Baggini - Salon Transmission Prize (2013)
  • The Letter Bearer by Robert Allison - McKitterick Prize (2013)
  • Orkney by Amy Sackville - The Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize (2013)
  • Secrecy by Rupert Thomson - The Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize (2013)
  • Battleborn by Claire Vaye Watkins - The American Academy Arts and Letters Prize (2013); The Story Prize (2013); The One Story Debutante for the 2013 Debutante Ball (2013); The New York Public Library Young Lions Award (2013); The Dylan Thomas Prize (2013)
  • The Adventures of Sir Thomas Browne in the 21st Century by Hugh Aldersey-Williams - East Anglian Book Awards (2013)
  • A Beautiful Truth by Colin McAdam - Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize (2013)
  • The Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison - William Hazlitt Prize (2013)
  • Deep Sea and Foreign Going by Rose George - Maritime Award for Best Literary Contribution (2013)
  • Nothing to Envy by Barbara Demick – BBC Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction (2010)
  • The Plot by Madeleine Bunting - Portico Prize for Literature (2010)
  • Super Sad True Love Story by Gary Shteyngart - Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for comic fiction (2010)
  • This Party's Got to Stop by Rupert Thomson - Writer's Guild Award for Non-Fiction (2010)
  • How to Drink by Victoria Moore – The V&A Award for Best Illustrated Book of the Year (2010)
  • The Seventh Well – The Wingate Literary Prize (2009)
  • Hot Flushes, Cold Science by Louise Foxcroft – Longman-History Today Award for Book of the Year (2009)
  • The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton – Betty Trask Award (2009)
  • The Rowing Lesson by Anne Landsman – The Sunday Times Fiction Prize, South Africa (2009)
  • Fishing in Utopia by Andrew Brown – Orwell Book Prize (2009)
  • The Book of Barely Imagined Beings by Caspar Henderson – The Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction (2009); the inaugural Roger Deakin Award (2009)
  • Map of a Nation by Rachel Hewitt – The Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction (2008)
  • Somewhere Towards the End by Diana Athill  – The Costa Award for Biography (2008)
  • The Wild Places by Robert Macfarlane – The Boardman Tasker Prize for Mountain Literature (2007); Scottish Arts Council Award for Non-Fiction Book of the Year (2008); joint winner of the Grand Prize at the Banff Mountain Festival (2008)
  • The Medical Detective by Sandra Hempel – British Medical Association Board of Science Award for the Public Understanding of Science (2007)
  • The Likes of Us by Michael Collins – The Orwell Book Prize (2005)
  • Mountains of the Mind by Robert Macfarlane – Guardian Award for First Book (2003); Sunday Times Award for Young Writer of the Year (2004); Somerset Maugham Award (2004)
  • Stasiland by Anna Funder – BBC Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction (2004)
  • Truth and Lies by Jillian Edelstein – John Kobal Book Award (2002)
  • When I Lived In Modern Times by Linda Grant - Orange Prize for Fiction (2000)
  • Truth and Lies by Jillian Edelstein – Visa d'Or (1998)
  • And When Did you Last See Your Father? by Blake Morrison – Waterstone’s/Volvo/Esquire Award for Non-Fiction (1993); the J. R. Ackerley Prize for Autobiography (1994) 

Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts